>Treadmill dancing and GRANOLA!

>Went to the gym today and I have to say five days off of running, for being sick and sick kids, is hard on the legs. I could run for 3 minutes at 4.6, then a one minute walk, 3 minutes at 4.6 and so on. Today I ran one minute at 4.6 and my legs felt like they were going to fall off.  So I listened to my body and went a little slower today but still got my 3 miles in, even if it did take 45 minutes. But a few more days and I will be in running order again. Just hope we don’t keep getting sick! 


Ok so tell me all you gym junkies out there, how do you run in a crazy packed gym? With all the treadmills, cycles, elliptical machines, TV’s, radio blasting, everyone getting on and off, I get total sensory overload! I can’t seem to concentrate on my run and/or breathing. Now I know I’ve been spoiled with a helpful husband who went into work at 9 instead of 8:30 so I could get in an hour and half run OUTSIDE everyday. But seriously I don’t know how to do this! My brain is in overdrive, which makes me not concentrate on what I’m doing. I’m super surprised I haven’t fallen off yet.








Luckily, my gym has a cinema room! Which I use all the time but I decided to not give the

cycle class a show today. That’s right a show, not a running show, more of a sing and flail your arms around show( you can’t really call what I’m doing dancing), now granted I try to keep it in but sometimes my arms and booty just have a mind of their own especially in a dark room. The singing I think was the best, I try not to! I really do! But with my headphones on I can’t hear myself. Hopefully it was loud enough in there that no one else could hear me either?  But if you did Your Welcome 8:30 and 9:30 am cycle classes for making your day more hilarious enjoyable! Be expecting plenty more because until I can get over the sensory overload, this show will be there at 8:45am 4 times a week.

Has anyone been outside today? It is gorgeous, if the boys hadn’t just been sick, I totally would of skipped the nap today in opt of some sunshine, seed planting, and car washing! 


Anyways, time for your recipe. Granola! Oh how I love thee granola! This doesn’t really count as a dessert right? It’s a cereal, right? Plus, it helps me get my fiber in for the day and some fruit? Ok maybe I’m pushing it with the fruit but still its in there. I totally eat granola twice a day, first with some cereal and second with some yogurt. And yes I spent the first 10 years of my life in California and Hawaii, I tend to sound like a valley girl! 


Basic GRANOLA
You’ll need 7-8 cups of dry ingredients such as:

  • oatmeal
  • flaxseed
  • wheat germ
  • nuts almonds, walnuts
  • seeds, pumpkin, sunflower
  • cereal, I like to use grape nuts for the extra crunch just a little though

Then 1-2 cups of wet ingredients depending on how sticky you like your granola 

  • oil, butter, peanut butter, 1 part or 1/4-1/2 cup
  • honey, maple syrup, agave nectar (if you want it really sweet)
  1. Then preheat your oven to 250
  2. Mix up your ingredients, and bake for 2 hours on a non-stick or parchment lined baking sheet,
  3. Stir every 45 minutes. 
  4. When done, add in your fruit, and/or chocolate.



For those crunch clusters, add in 2 whisked egg whites before baking




Isn’t that easy! So much easier than dancing on a treadmill! Enjoy your day everyone! 


Do you ever dance and/or sing on the treadmill? 
How is your running/ training going? 

About reesimplelife

Hi, I'm a stay-at-home mom trying to find a healthier lifestyle that works for my family and me. It's not easy with two energetic toddlers, a hyper dog, a house that needs a lot of work, 12 cars (that's right I said 12) that all need work, a large home garden, lots of work/family travel and an Italian husband who likes to help everyone but himself, but we make it work. We need to make it work!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

